Chairs Directory

The College of Arts and Sciences is honored to promote the heads in every subject, the department chairs. Department chairs and program directors are experts in their disciplines, sharing their unique and real-world experience with students, colleagues and the univeristy community at large.

Department Chairs

Peter F. Biehl

Department Chair

Department of Anthropology

380 Fillmore Academic Center

Phone: (716) 645-0402

Email: pbiehl@buffalo.edu

Joan Linder

Department Chair

Department of Art

202 Center of the Arts

Phone: (716) 645-0539

Email: joannder@buffalo.edu

Stephen Free

Department Chair

Department of Biological Sciences

109 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4935

Email: free@buffalo.edu

David Watson

Department Chair

Department of Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Bulding

Phone: (716) 645-4189

Email: chechair@buffalo.edu

Bradley Ault

Department Chair

Department of Classics

338 MFAC

Phone: (716) 645-0458

Email: clarbrad@buffalo.edu

Mark Frank

Department Chair

Department of Communication

359 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1170

Email: mfrank83@buffalo.edu

D. Jeffrey Higginbotham

Department Chair

Department of Communicative Disorders and Sciences

122 Cary Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5542

Email: cdsjeff@buffalo.edu

Krzysztof Ziarek

Department Chair

Department of Comparative Literature

638 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0858

Email: kziarek@buffalo.edu

Alex Anas

Department Chair

Department of Economics

415 Fronczak Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8663

Email: alexanas@buffalo.edu

Rachel Ablow

Department Chair

Department of English

320 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2577

Email: rablow@buffalo.edu

Sean Bennett

Department Chair

Department of Geography

105 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: (716) 645-0490

Email: seanb@buffalo.edu

Beata Csatho

Interim Chair

Department of Geology

126 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4325

Email: bcsatho@buffalo.edu

Victoria Wolcott

Department Chair

Department of History

546 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8411

Email: vwwolcot@buffalo.edu

Sergey Dolgopolski

Department Chair

Department of Jewish Thought

712 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0851

Email: sergey@buffalo.edu

Jeff Good

Department Chair

Department of Linguistics

613 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0126

Email: jcgood@buffalo.edu

Krishna Rajan

Department Chair

Department of Materials Design and Innovation

126 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1380

Email: krajan3@buffalo.edu

David Hemmer

Department Chair

Department of Mathematics

244 Math Building

Phone: (716) 645-8781

Email: dhemmer@math.buffalo.edu

Marc Bohlen

Department Chair

Department of Media Study

231 Center for the Arts

Phone: (716) 645-0940

Email: marcbohlen@buffalo.edu

David Felder

Interim Chair

Department of Music

116 Slee Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0658

Email: felder@buffalo.edu

Neil Williams

Department Chair

Department of Philosophy

135 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0162

Email: new@buffalo.edu

Hong Luo

Department Chair

Department of Physics

239 Fronczak Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3421

Email: luo@buffalo.edu

Harvey Palmer

Department Chair

Department of Political Science

520 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8449

Email: hpalmer@buffalo.edu

Stephen T. Tiffany

Department Chair

Department of Psychology

206B Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0244

Email: stiffany@buffalo.edu

Elizabeth Scarlett

Department Chair

Department of Romance Languages and Literature

910 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0873

Email: scarlett@buffalo.edu

Debra Street

Department Chair

Department of Sociology

430 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8475

Email: dastreet@buffalo.edu

Lynne Koscielniak

Department Chair

Department of Theatre and Dance

285 Alumni Arena

Phone: (716) 645-0574

Email: lk2@buffalo.edu

Cecil Foster

Department Chair

Department of Transnational Studies

1004 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0786

Email: cecilfos@buffalo.edu

For information on individual faculty members, please visit Department and Program websites.