Faculty Directory

Richelle Allen-King PhD

Professor

Hydrogeology, Hydrogeochemistry

Cooke Hall 415

Phone: (716) 645-4287

Email: richelle@buffalo.edu

Jason Briner, PhD

Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Quaternary and Glacial Geology, Paleoclimatology, Arctic Environmental Change

Hochstetter 410

Phone: (716) 645-4326

Email: jbriner@buffalo.edu

Marcus Bursik, PhD

Professor

Volcanic and Geologic Hazards, Plumes, Tephrochronology, Tectonics, Mapping

Hochstetter 413

Phone: (716) 645-4265

Email: mib@buffalo.edu

Estelle Chaussard, PhD

Assistant Professor

Geophysics

Hochstetter 417

Phone: (716) 645-4291

Email: estellec@buffalo.edu

Mary Alice Coffroth, PhD

Professor

Evolutionary Biology and Ecology, Population Biology of Marine Invertebrates

Hochstetter 447

Phone: (716) 645-4871

Email: coffroth@buffalo.edu

Beata Csatho, PhD

Interim Chair; Professor

Remote Sensing, Glaciology, Climate Change, Geophysics

Hochstetter 411

Phone: (716) 645-4325

Email: bcsatho@buffalo.edu

Tracy K.P. Gregg, PhD

Associate Professor

Volcanology, Mid-ocean Ridge Eruptions, Basaltic Lava Flows, Volcanoes on Mars and Venus

Hochstetter 419

Phone: (716) 645-4328

Email: tgregg@buffalo.edu

Margarete A. Jadamec, PhD

Assistant Professor; Computational and Data-enabled Science and Engineering Program

Geodynamics, Tectonophysics, High Performance Computing

Cooke Hall 429

Phone: (716) 645-4262

Email: mjadamec@buffalo.edu

Howard R. Lasker, PhD

Professor

Population Ecology of Coral Reef Organisms

Hochstetter 443

Phone: (716) 645-4870

Email: hlasker@buffalo.edu

Christopher Lowry, PhD

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Physical Hydrogeology

Cooke Hall 413

Phone: (716) 645-4266

Email: cslowry@buffalo.edu

Kimberly Meehan, PhD (Arrives in January 2018)

Clinical Assistant Professor

Paleoecology, carbonates, ancient methane cold-seeps, Burgess Shale-type preservation

Cooke Hall 453

Phone: (716) 645-4293

Email: kcmeehan@buffalo.edu

Charles E. Mitchell, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor;

Paleobiology, Biostratigraphy, Appalachian Basin History, Ordovician Geology

Cooke 455

Phone: (716) 645-4290

Email: cem@buffalo.edu

Erasmus K. Oware, PhD

Assistant Professor

Environmental Geophysics, Geostatistics, and Hydrogeology

Cooke Hall 417

Phone: (716) 645-4260

Email: erasmuso@buffalo.edu

Kristin Poinar (Arrives in January 2018)

Assistant Professor

Glaciology, ice-sheet modeling

Hochstetter 445

Phone: 645-4286

Email: kpoinar@buffalo.edu

Elizabeth K. Thomas, PhD

Assistant Professor

Stable Isotope and Organic Geochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Environmental Change in the Arctic and Asia

Cooke Hall 437

Phone: (716) 645-4329

Email: ekthomas@buffalo.edu

Greg A. Valentine, PhD

Professor; Director of Center for Geohazard Studies

Volcanic Risk, Phreatomagmatic Explosive Eruptions, Basaltic Volcanic Fields, Pyroclastic Deposits, Volcano Fluid Dynamics, Volcaniclastic and Surface Processes

Hochstetter 415

Phone: Phone: (716) 645-4295

Email: gav4@buffalo.edu