CAS Policy Committee

September 27, 2021 3:30–5:00 PM Steering Committee 2:30–3:30 PM Zoom meeting

Meeting Agenda

1. Vote to approve minutes for meeting held on May 17, 2021.

2. Need someone to serve as Vice-Chair.

3. Approve Professor Harvey Palmer as Chair, Professor Jim Battista as Secretary, and whomever volunteers as Vice-Chair.

4. Update from Dean Robin Schulze

5. Faculty Senate Membership: Vote to approve ad-interim appointment of Professor Gino Biondini (MTH) for 2021-2022 term

6. FSEC Membership: Vote to approve the members of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. The members for 2021-2022 will be:

MTH Michael Cowen – 317 Math Bldg – cowen@buffalo.edu HIS Kristin Stapleton – 525 Park Hall – kstaple@buffalo.edu

7. Volunteers for the Steering Committee, and vote to approve additional members. For reference, the Bylaws stipulate these conditions for this committee:

The Steering Committee shall recommend the agenda for each meeting of the Policy Committee, serve as the committee on committees, and carry out such other duties as the Policy Committee may assign. Its Chair shall be the Policy Committee Chair; its members shall be the Vice Chair of and seven members elected annually by and from the Policy Committee; no two shall be from the same unit.

8. Volunteers for the Elections Committee, and vote to approve additional members. Professor Barbara Wejnert has agreed to Chair the Elections Committee; Professor Battista has volunteered to serve on this committee. For reference, the Bylaws stipulate these conditions for this committee:

The Elections Committee shall conduct nominations and elections for the Policy Committee, the Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure, the College's Senators in the UB Faculty Senate, any other College nominations and elections established pursuant to these *Bylaws*, and all ballots on College referenda and amendments to these *Bylaws*.

The Committee shall be five persons appointed by the Policy Committee, who shall also appoint its Chair; the Chair and members shall serve two-year terms, and may be reappointed without limit.

9. Volunteers for the Budget Oversight Subcommittee, and vote to approve the members. Professor Omer Gokcumen has volunteered to serve on this committee. For reference, the Subcommittee's charge stipulates these conditions:

The Subcommittee shall consist of six members, appointed by the Policy Committee from among its own members. Each division of the College shall be represented by two members, but no unit may have more than one member on the Subcommittee at once. Terms shall be for two years, and members shall be eligible to serve no more than three terms consecutively. The Subcommittee shall select a chair from among its members on a yearly basis, with preference given to those in their second (or subsequent) year of service on the Subcommittee.

10. Volunteer to serve as the Policy Committee representative to the Awards Committee.

11. Announce outcome of special election to fill vacancies on the APT Committee: Professor Michael Stefanone (COM) to a partial term ending June 30, 2023, and Professor Bing Gong (CHE) to a partial term ending June 30, 2022. Professor Jim Holstun (ENG) will serve as an alternate.

12. Vote to approve new membership of the Curriculum Committee. The members will be:

PSC Michelle Benson-Saxton – 513 Park – mbenson2@buffalo.edu MTH Michael Cowen – 317 Math Bldg – cowen@math.buffalo.edu ENG Susan R. Eilenberg – 531 Clemens – sre@buffalo.edu THD Meredith Conti - Alumni Arena - maconti@buffalo.edu ART Paul Vanouse – 141 Center for the Arts - vanouse@buffalo.edu PHY Jong Han – 239 Fronczak – jonghan@buffalo.edu

Dean's Office ex officio Peter Pfordresher, Associate Dean – pqp@buffalo.edu Stefanos Papazaharias, Assistant Dean – scp@buffalo.edu Caitlin Hoekstra, Assistant Director Of Experiential Learning – cebarone@buffalo.edu

13. Vote to select two new members of the Awards Committee and then to approve the continuing members. The nominees for the open position are:

COM Janet Yang – 329 Baldy – zyang5@buffalo.edu APY Noreen von Cramon-Taubadel – 166 Spaulding Bldg 6 – noreenvo@buffalo.edu PSY Rebecca Ashare – 228 Park – rlashare@buffalo.edu

The continuing members will be:

SOC Mary Nell Trautner – 430 Park – trautner@buffalo.edu CHE Jason Benedict – 359 Natural Sciences – jbb6@buffalo.edu ENG Ruth Mack – 306 Clemens – ruthmack@buffalo.edu

Dean's Office ex officio Gerald Koudelka, Senior Associate Dean for Research – koudelka@buffalo.edu Michelle Scott, Director of HR - mscott2@buffalo.edu

14. Discuss process for determining the list of nominees for Decanal Review of Dean Schulze. Volunteers for ad hoc subcommittee to select nominee list.

Nominee suggestions so far: Barbara Wejnert (EVS), Derek Taylor (BIO), Zhiqiang Liu (ECO), Craig Colder (PSY), Bill Menasco (MTH), and Will Kinney (PHY).

15. Issues for discussion in future meetings:

- A. Whether the division definitions used for the PhD Excellence Oversight Committee should be aligned with those used by the Dean's Office. The Dean's Office includes PHI in the Social Sciences and PSY in the Natural Sciences.
- B. Whether the PhD Excellence Oversight Committee, under the constraints of its charge, could decide to eliminate the use of an algorithm to allocate TA funding.
- C. Whether the Department of Materials Design and Innovation should receive departmental representation on the Policy Committee.
- D. Process for adding a department to a division rotation for departmental representatives on the PhD Excellence Oversight Committee. Why is this relevant? Future allocation of TA funding to the Indigenous Studies and Art departments; potential changes in the divisions of PHI and PSY