Undergraduate Updates

Joseph Romagnolo, receiver of 2020 Outstanding Senior. Grey backdrop.

2020 Outstanding Senior,
Joseph Romangnolo

Graduation looked a little different this year for the Class of 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, students could not have their celebration in person. Instead, the Department of History celebrated the achievements of our students with a virtual ceremony. Students and faculty joined together on Zoom with academic attire and festive backgrounds to give the Class of 2020 a proper celebration and send off. After opening speeches from the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Camilo Trumper, and the Department Chair, Erik Seeman, students, their families, and faculty enjoyed a virtual commencement speech given by the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institute, Lonnie Bunch III.

Jose-Romarah Chery, Honorable Mention of Undergraduate Thesis. Selfie on the UB Stampede.

Undergraduate Thesis Honorable Mention,
Jose-Romarah Chery

Students, their families, and faculty then cheered on their fellow students as they won awards and heard about the amazing accomplishments of their classmates during their time at UB and in the Department of History. Students then “processed” out accompanied by full pomp and circumstance and best wishes from the faculty to individual virtual meetings with their favorite faculty members. Congratulations again to our newest alumni, the Class of 2020!

Image of Victor E Bull in cap and gown that reads Congratulations Class of 2020.

2020 Scholarship and Award Winners

Ben Cyrulnik, with trees in the background.

Undergraduate Thesis Prize, Benjamin R. Cyrulnik

Outstanding Senior: Joseph Romangnolo

Department of History Diversity Scholarships: Monica Adam, Mariah Agbonkpolo, Richard Fries, Mileni Mani, Jessica Petteys, and Danielle Redfield

Best Undergraduate Paper Prize: Christian Wuerthner

Plesur Memorial Scholarship: Mariah Agbonkpolo, Achilles Blessios, Andrew Komula , Monica McCreedy, Jessica Petteys, Danielle Redfield, and James Resnick

Joyce J. and John D. Milligan and Family Scholarship: William Gonzalez and Mohamad Naji

Best Undergraduate Thesis Prize: Benjamin R. Cyrulnik

Honorable Mentions: Jose-Romarah Chery and Joseph Romagnolo