Robert B Caldwell


Headshot of Dr. Robert B. Caldwell.

Robert B Caldwell


Robert B Caldwell


Choctaw-Apache Community of Ebarb Louisiana
Assistant Professor of Indigenous Studies


  • PhD, History, The University of Texas at Arlington, 2018
  • MA, Heritage Resources, Northwestern State University, 2011
  • MS, Labor Studies, The University of Massachusetts Amherst, 2003
  • BA, Anthropology and History, The University of New Orleans, 2001

Biographical Statement

Robert Caldwell is an enrolled citizen of the Choctaw-Apache Community of Ebarb Louisiana. His first book, Choctaw-Apache Foodways received an award from the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and he was named culture bearer. He is co-founder of the HoMinti Society, a nonprofit organization dedicated to teaching his tribe’s traditional culture.  He enjoys playing Kabutcha Toli (southeastern stickball) and is honored to be a guest in Haudenosaunee lands. 

Research Area

Dr. Caldwell’s longstanding research projects consist of three categories: maps and Native representation; ethnohistorical research on behalf of my own tribal community, and Native migration to the near Southwest. 

Scholarly Interest

Some of History of cartography, ethnohistory, indigenous foodways, the study of colonialism and imperialism, migration history, revolutions, federal (non) recognition, métissage, and Afro-Indigeneity. 

Recent Publications

“Lewis and Clark Expedition” and “John Wesley Powell,” entries in History of Cartography, Vol. 5: The Cartography in the Nineteenth Century, ed. Roger J.P. Kain. University of Chicago Press, Forthcoming. 

“Filé Man: Colson’s Creole-Indigenous Continuity” Louisiana Creole Peoplehood: Afro-Indigeneity and Community. Eds. Rain Prud’homme-Cranford, Andrew Jolivétte, and Darryl Barthé. University of Washington Press, 2021. 

“Persistence on the Edge: The Choctaw-Apache Community of Ebarb,” Native South. Vol. 19, 2020. 

“Choctaw Frontier: Incursions and settlement in Northwest Louisiana and East Texas, 1760-1836,” North Louisiana History Fall 2020.