News and Events

Recent News

Registration is now open for the Western New York Regional Phi Alpha Theta Conference, hosted by UB's Department of History.  To register, please fill out the registration form.   For participants not affiliated with the University at Buffalo, there will be a $10 registration fee due at the time of the conference. 
On March 8-9, 2019, the Graduate History Association held their annual Milton Plesur Graduate History Conference.  The keynote was Dr. Katherine Ott from the National Museum of American History. The Milton Plesur Graduate History Conference is the longest continuously running graduate conference at the University at Buffalo.  It attracts not only students from the United States, but also hosts international students. 
In February 2019, Professor Andreas Daum published a biography of the naturalist Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859), an intellectual globalizer who is regarded as one of the last universal scholars.  Daum’s book provides an overview of the transatlantic life, widespread oeuvre and networks of Humboldt.  Today Humboldt enjoys renewed appreciation for his comparative views on the natural environments, culture and history of the various spaces in Europe, the Americas and Asia he visited (C. H. Beck Publishers, Munich).

Upcoming Events

Loading events…
See All Upcoming Events>