Faculty and Staff

On this page:

Core Faculty

Jürgen Bohnemeyer

Director of Graduate Studies; Associate Professor

Specialties: Semantic typology, Conceptual and Formal Semantics, the Syntax-Semantics Interface, the Semantics-Pragmatics Interface, Linguistic Anthropology, Mesoamerican Languages

642 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0127

Email: jb77@buffalo.edu

Abigaël Candelas de la Ossa

Visiting Assistant Professor

Specialties: Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics, Legal and Institutional Discourse, Corpus Linguistics, Variation, Discourse Analysis

627 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0116

Email: abigaelc@buffalo.edu

Rui P. Chaves

Associate Professor

Specialties: Syntax, Syntax-Semantics Interface, Constraint-Based Grammar, Long-Distance Dependencies, Coordination, Experimental Syntax, and Grammar Implementation

604 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0133

Email: rchavez@buffalo.edu

Christian DiCanio

Assistant Professor

Specialties: Acoustic and Articulatory Phonetics, Corpus Phonetics, Phonology, Lexical Tone, Prosody, Fieldwork, and Oto-Manguean Languages

601 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0113

Email: cdicanio@buffalo.edu

Matthew S. Dryer

Professor

Specialties: Typology, Syntax, Documentation (especially Papuan languages)

616 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0122

Email: dryer@buffalo.edu

David Fertig

Associate Professor

Specialties: Germanic Linguistics, Historical linguistics, Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Morphology, and Phonology

638 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0129

Email: fertig@buffalo.edu

Jeff Good

Department Chair; Associate Professor

Specialties: Morphosyntactic typology, Niger-Congo languages, Language documentation

613 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0126

Email: jcgood@buffalo.edu

Robert Hoeing

Director of Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor

Specialties: German Syntax, Syntactic Theory, and Business German

639 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0130

Email: rghoeing@buffalo.edu

Jean-Pierre Koenig

Professor

Specialties: Syntax, Semantics, Psycholinguistics

618 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8482

Email: jpkoenig@buffalo.edu

EunHee Lee

Associate Professor

Specialties: Formal Semantics, Logic and Philosophy of Language, Language Acquisition, Narrative Structure, Korean

605 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0125

Email: ehlee@buffalo.edu

Karin Michelson

Professor

Specialties: Iroquoian Languages, Phonology, Morphology, Lexical Semantics, Historical Linguistics, and Field Linguistics

602 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2463

Email: kmich@buffalo.edu

Mitsuaki Shimojo

Associate Professor; Director of Japanese Program, Director of Undergraduate Studies for Asian Studies

Specialties: Japanese linguistics, Syntax, and Discourse

640 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0131

Email: shimojo@buffalo.edu

Robert D. Van Valin, Jr.

Professor

Specialties: Syntax, Language Acquisition, Lakhota, and Yatee Zapotec

614 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0115

Email: vanvalin@buffalo.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Jeri J. Jaeger

Professor Emeritus

Specialties: Phonetics, Phonology, Psycholinguistics, Neurolinguistics, and Language Acquisition

Madeleine Mathiot

Professor Emeritus

Specialties: Field Linguistics, Ethnosemantics, Lexicology, Semiotics, Discourse

611 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0119

Email: mathiotm@buffalo.edu

Leonard Talmy

Professor Emeritus

Specialties: Cognitive Semantics, Typology and Universals

Wolfgang Wölck

Distinguished Service Professor Emertitus

Specialties: Diglossia, Bilingualism, and Sociolinguistics

629 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0128

Email: wwolck@acsu.buffalo.edu

David A. Zubin

Associate Professor Emeritus

Specialties: Categorization Theory, Typology, and Discourse

Affiliated Faculty

Janina Brutt-Griffler

Professor of Foreign Language Education; Director of Polish Studies

Gail Maulner

Associate Professor of Psychology

Roger Woodard

Professor; Department of Classics

Full-Time Lecturers

Heewon Chae

Full-Time Lecturer (Korean)

Department of Linguistics

643 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0134

Email: heewonch@buffalo.edu

Emily Glenn-Smith

Full-Time Lecturer (ASL)

Department of Linguistics

606 Baldy

Email: eglenn@buffalo.edu

Akemi Isselbaecher

Full-Time Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

644 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0137

Email: sakamoto@buffalo.edu

Xuehong Lu

Full-Time Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

641 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0132

Email: xuehongl@buffalo.edu

Valentina Sanders

Full-Time Lecturer (Russian)

Department of Linguistics

648 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0138

Email: vsanders@buffalo.edu

Adjunct Lecturers

Chihiro Aoki

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy Hall

Email: chihiroa@buffalo.edu

Mindy Brightman

Adjunct Lecturer (ASL)

Department of Linguistics

606 Baldy Hall

Email: mindybri@buffalo.edu

Yoshiko Connolly

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: yuc@buffalo.edu

Sigrid Fertig

Adjunct Lecturer (German)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: sfertig@buffalo.edu

Vandana Iyer

Adjunct Lecturer (Hindi)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: vb4@buffalo.edu

Toshie Kenney

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: toshieke@buffalo.edu

Na Li

Adjunct Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: nli23@buffalo.edu

Danuta Nycz-Nakamura

Adjunct Lecturer (Polish)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: Nycz@buffalo.edu

Yukako Otsuki

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: yukakoot@buffalo.edu

Stefanos Papazaharias

Adjunct Lecturer (Greek)

Department of Linguistics

810 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0749

Email: scp@buffalo.edu

Issa Roustum

Adjunct Lecturer (Arabic)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: roustum@buffalo.edu

Yongbo Tian

Adjunct Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: ytian2@buffalo.edu

Jayme Williams

Adjunct Lecturer (ASL)

Department of Linguistics

606 Baldy

Email: jaymemal@buffalo.edu

Administrative Staff

Sharon Sell

Assistant to the Chair

Department of Linguistics

609 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2179

Email: sysell@buffalo.edu

Jodi L. Reiner

Department/Graduate Secretary

Department of Linguistics

609 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3794

Email: jlreiner@buffalo.edu

Pratheep Sakas

Office Assistant

Department of Linguistics

609 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3795

Email: psakas@buffalo.edu