2022-23 Fulbright Scholars named

Jamie Barber, a clinical assistant professor in the Department of English and director of UB’s Journalism Certificate Program was awarded a Fulbright-Nehru Academic and Professional Excellence Fellowship to facilitate student instruction in the area of science communication at the Science Gallery in Bangalore, India.

Erik Seeman from the Department of History has received a Fulbright Research and Teaching Fellowship. Seeman will engage in two deeply collaborative research projects and teach an undergraduate course on death, disease, and religion in Erfurt, Germany in 2023.

Elizabeth K. Thomas, assistant professor of geology and recipient of a 2021 NSF CAREER Award, was awarded a Fulbright Scholar Award to conduct research in Norway. Her research aims to understand how past rapid changes in Earth’s climate affected precipitation in various parts of the world—including the Arctic, areas affected by the Asian Monsoon, and the Great Lakes region.

The prestigious Fulbright Program was created to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Fulbright is the world’s largest and most diverse international educational exchange program.