Faculty and Staff

On this page:

Core Faculty

Jurgen Bohnemeyer.

642 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0127

jb77@buffalo.edu

Director of Graduate Studies
Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Andrew Byrne.

611 Baldy Hall

abyrne@buffalo.edu

American Sign Language Program Director
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Rui P. Chaves.

604 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0133

rchaves@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts of Sciences
Christian DiCanio.

601 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0113

cdicanio@buffalo.edu

Assistant Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
David Fertig.

638 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0129

fertig@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Jeff Good.

613 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0126

jcgood@buffalo.edu

Chair
Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Robert Hoeing.

639 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0130

rghoeing@buffalo.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Hyein Amber Kim.

643 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0134

hkim55@buffalo.edu

Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Jean-Pierre Koenig.

612 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8482

jpkoenig@buffalo.edu

Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
EunHee Lee.

623 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0125

ehlee@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Sean Macdonald.

464 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0109

seanmacd@buffalo.edu

Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Karin Michelson.

602 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2463

kmich@buffalo.edu

Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Mitsuaki Shimojo.

640 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0131

shimojo@buffalo.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies for Asian Studies
Director of Japanese Program
Associate Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Robert D Van Valin, Jr.

614 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0115

vanvalin@buffalo.edu

Professor
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences

Emeritus Faculty

Matthew S. Dryer.

616 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0122

dryer@buffalo.edu

Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Jeri J. Jaeger.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Madeleine Mathiot.

611 Baldy Hall

mathiotm@buffalo.edu

Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Leonard Talmy.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
Wolfgang Wölck.

629 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0128

wwolck@acsu.buffalo.edu

Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences
David A. Zubin.

610 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0118

linzubin@acsu.buffalo.edu

Associate Professor Emeritus
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences

Affiliated Faculty

Postdoctoral Researchers

Lea Brown

Postdoctoral Researcher

Pierpaolo Di Carlo.

Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Linguistics
College of Arts and Sciences

Full-Time Lecturers

Akemi Isselbaecher

Full-Time Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

644 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0137

Email: sakamoto@buffalo.edu

Xuehong Lu

Full-Time Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

641 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0132

Email: xuehongl@buffalo.edu

Valentina Sanders

Full-Time Lecturer (Russian)

Department of Linguistics

648 Baldy

Phone: (716) 645-0138

Email: vsanders@buffalo.edu

Adjunct Lecturers

Chihiro Aoki

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy Hall

Email: chihiroa@buffalo.edu

Mindy Brightman

Adjunct Lecturer (ASL)

Department of Linguistics

606 Baldy Hall

Email: mindybri@buffalo.edu

Yoshiko Connolly

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: yuc@buffalo.edu

Sigrid Fertig

Adjunct Lecturer (German)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: sfertig@buffalo.edu

Vandana Iyer

Adjunct Lecturer (Hindi)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: vb4@buffalo.edu

Toshie Kenney

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: toshieke@buffalo.edu

Na Li

Adjunct Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: nli23@buffalo.edu

Danuta Nycz-Nakamura

Adjunct Lecturer (Polish)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: Nycz@buffalo.edu

Yukako Otsuki

Adjunct Lecturer (Japanese)

Department of Linguistics

444 Baldy

Email: yukakoot@buffalo.edu

Stefanos Papazaharias

Adjunct Lecturer (Greek)

Department of Linguistics

810 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0749

Email: scp@buffalo.edu

Issa Roustum

Adjunct Lecturer (Arabic)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: roustum@buffalo.edu

Yongbo Tian

Adjunct Lecturer (Chinese)

Department of Linguistics

456 Baldy

Email: ytian2@buffalo.edu

Jayme Williams

Adjunct Lecturer (ASL)

Department of Linguistics

606 Baldy

Email: jaymemal@buffalo.edu

Administrative Staff

Ann Richards

Assistant to the Chair

Department of Linguistics

608 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2179

Email: ann1@buffalo.edu

Jodi Reiner.

Jodi L. Reiner

Department/Graduate Secretary

Department of Linguistics

610 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3794

Email: jlreiner@buffalo.edu