Published October 18, 2023

Come Study at the University at Buffalo MFA Program

Applications are open through January 15, 2024. Full-tuition scholarships and fellowships are available to eligible students.

Jimena Murabito crouched and barefoot on a cement floor, working on a site-specific performance for Professor Millie Chen’s course, Installation: Urban Space, within a grain silo at "Silo City" in Buffalo, with cloth and ears of corn arranged on the ground in front of her.

Jimena Murabito working on a site-specific performance for Professor Millie Chen’s course, Installation: Urban Space (image courtesy University at Buffalo | Douglas Levere) Photo by Douglas Levere

Come study art at a top-ranked, flagship R1 Research University in the state of New York. The MFA program at the University at Buffalo exceeds traditional boundaries and encourages diverse practices in emerging artistic fields. 

The programs offer competitive and fully-funded teaching assistantships with health insurance. Funding options include full-tuition scholarships for MFA students and the Arthur A. Schomburg Fellowship Program.

Resources include a tier-one research university, individual studio space, access to departmental and interdisciplinary facilities including the Art and Science laboratory Coalesce: Center for Biological Arts, UB Art Galleries, and curatorial opportunities.

The MFA program provides an opportunity for students to combine creative work with scholarly interests to define their own unique practice. Faculty mentorship and interdisciplinary institutional access form the core of the program, supplemented with frequent studio visits by visiting artists, designers, and scholars from a wide range of disciplines.

Explore the visiting artist speaker series programs and read about our accomplished alumni.

Full-time faculty include Marc Böhlen, Becky Brown, Noah Breuer, Crystal Z. Campbell, Millie Chen, Kelly Myers-Chunco, Maximilian Goldfarb, Berin Golonu, Ilona Gaynor, George Afredzi Hughes, Matt Kenyon, Joan Linder, John Opera, Victoria Udondian, Reinhard Reitzenstein, Stephanie Rothenberg, T. Triandos, Abdi Osman, Paul Vanouse, and Livingston V. Watrous.

The application deadline is Wednesday, January 15, 2024.
The Schomburg Fellowship Program application deadline is December 9, 2023.

For more information, visit