Published November 30, 2021

Thayer Fellowship in the Arts/Patricia Kerr Ross Award

photograph of artist bent over drawing of houses.

The Thayer Fellowship and the Patricia Kerr Ross Award are given each year to outstanding candidates for graduation from The State University of New York, funded through endowments established in honor of Jeanne C. Thayer, Trustee of SUNY from 1974-1984, and Patricia Kerr Ross, former Artistic Director of the Thayer Fellowship. The Ross Award is administered by the New York Foundation for the Arts.

Two Thayer Fellowships of $7,000

These Fellowships are intended to provide post-graduate support for SUNY students pursuing careers in the creative and performing arts.

The awards may be used for, but not limited to, auditions, studio space, supplies, equipment, website development, rent, recording sessions, and publishing costs.

Two Thayer Fellowships of $7,000 each may be given to one individual or divided between two outstanding candidates. The Fellowship selection is based on talent, achievement, and potential as a professional artist. 

The Ross Award of $1,000

... is given annually to an individual or divided among two exceptional applicants. The basis for this award is excellence, originality, and promise. The awards are available to seniors and graduate students in the arts who are about to graduate from the University and make a career in the arts. They are not intended for students going on to graduate school.

Rules and Application

For the complete list of rules and application procedures download the attached PDF.

The deadline for applications is February 23, 2022


Applicants must be:

  • Currently enrolled in the State University of New York
  • A candidate for graduation from SUNY in 2022 at
  • any level:
    • Associates
    • Bachelors
    • Masters
    • Doctoral 
  • In one of the following creative or performing arts:
    • Dance
    • Music
    • Theatre
    • Creative Writing
    • Visual arts
    • Film