Meet Our Alumni

Alumni Profiles

Alumni News

Roger S. Storm – The Department of Chemistry is saddened by the passing of one of its alumni: Roger S. Storm, PhD, of Derby, N.Y. on April 18, 2013. Roger earned a doctorate in physical chemistry at the University at Buffalo. He joined the Carborundum Corp., Niagara Falls, N.Y. in 1969. He was the author of 11 patents in advanced ceramics and material applications and processes, and served as director of the Wendel Center for Research at Carborundum. In the early 1980s, he helped direct a joint project between Carborundum and Harrison Radiator to create a ceramic turbine engine for automobiles. From 1994 to 1997, he was director of avionics and MCM products at Carborundum Microelectronics. He then became vice president of Advanced Refractory Technology in Buffalo. In 2001, he became a senior vice president of Materials and Electrochemical Research of Tucson, Ariz., a position he held at the time of his death.

Chemistry alumna Allison Campbell, a distinguished graduate of the Chemistry doctoral program (PhD studies with SUNY Distinguished Professor George H. Nancollas), has been named a 2012 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). According to AAAS, “Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.” We congratulate Allison, who serves as director of the W.R. Wiley Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.

Chemistry alumnus Gary A. Baker (PhD ’02), currently at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on young professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

An article by UB Department of Chemistry alumni Carolyn and Al Ribes titled “Tips for Overseas Assignments” ran in the July 14, 2008 issue of Chemical and Engineering News.

Priscilla Clarke, Chemistry alumna (BA ’59), wins SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service (2008).

Cynthia Hoover, Chemistry alumna (PhD ’95), wins George W. Thorn Award (2008)

My Hang Huynh, Chemistry alumna (PhD ’98), was awarded the prestigious MacArthur Fellowship (2007)