CAS APT Committee

July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018

This committee meets every Thursday afternoon from 3-5:30pm. 

Committee of 12; all members hold continuing appointment; at most 3 Associate Professors; no two members from one unit; no member a unit chair or CAS officer; election each Fall, with one candidate nominated by each CAS unit not having a continuing member; members serve 3-year terms, at most two terms consecutively. Committee elects Professor as Chair.

Chair: Jennifer Read

Term ending June 30, 2020:

LIN    Michelson, Karin – Professor – Partial Term*
COL    Johnson, David – Professor – 1st Term
PHY    Sen, Surajit – Professor – 2nd Term
GEO    Wang, Le – Professor – 1st Term

Term ending June 30, 2019:

MTH   Dimock, Jonathan – Professor – 2nd Term
MUS    Kolor, Thomas – Associate Professor – Partial Term**
TD    Matthews, Nathan – Associate Professor – Partial Term***
HIS    Vardi, Liana – Professor – 1st Term

Term ending June 30, 2018:

SOC   Adelman, Robert – Associate Professor – 1st Term
ENG   Frakes, Jerold - SUNY Distinguished Professor – Partial Term****
PSY    Read, Jennifer – Professor – 1st Term
CHE    Richard, John – UB Dstg Prof – 1st Term


*Karin Michelson, Professor in Linguistics, replaces Thomas Feeley until June 30, 2018.  An alternate from the next APT election will replace Prof. Feeley until June 30, 2019.  Prof. Feeley will then return to finish out his term through June 30, 2020.

**Thomas Kolor, Associate Professor in Music, replaces Gerald Koudelka (term ending June 30, 2019)

***Nathan Matthews, Associate Professor in Theatre & Dance, replaces Kristin Tjaden (term ending June 30, 2019)

****Jerold Frakes, SUNY Distinguished Professor in English, replaces Carol Berman (term ending June 30, 2018)


APT Special Election

Term ending June 30, 2018:

COL    Gasché, Rodolphe – SUNY Dstg Prof
LIN     Michelson, Karin – Professor
ART    Schirm, David – Professor