• UB scientist joins communication project
    Researcher Jeff Higginbotham is working with UNC Chapel Hill colleagues to help improve the expressive communication skills of those with complex communication needs.
  • Morrow elected AAAS fellow
    Four UB professors, including the Department of Chemistry’s Janet Morrow, have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.
  • Biehl named ACE fellow
    The UB anthropology professor was selected for the American Council on Education program that prepares participants for senior positions in college and university leadership.
  • Two College researchers receive NSF CAREER awards
    Three UB researchers have received the National Science Foundation’s CAREER award, one of the nation’s most prestigious honors for early-career scientists and engineers. The College of Arts and Sciences' 2020 recipients are Margarete Jadamec, Department of Geology and the Institute for Computational and Data Sciences; and Ann-Marie Torregrossa, Department of Psychology.
  • UB honors exceptional scholars, innovative teachers
    The Exceptional Scholars Award honors faculty members for their outstanding research performance at different stages of their careers. There are two awards: Sustained Achievement Awards for senior scholars and Young Investigator Awards. College of Arts and Sciences recipients for 2020 are Steven Diver, professor, Department of Chemistry; Tamara Thornton, professor, Department of History; and David Lacy, assistant professor, Department of Chemistry.
  • Busch wins 2020 Milton Plesur Excellence in Teaching Award
    The Plesur Award — named for Plesur, a beloved teacher and scholar in the Department of History who died in 1987 — recognizes commitment to students and quality of teaching. This year’s recipient from the College of Arts and Sciences is Robert Busch, clinical assistant professor, Department of Mathematics.
  • Alexandridis elected fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry
    Paschalis Alexandridis, UB Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • Eric Seeman wins prestigious history prize
    Erik Seeman, professor of history, College of Arts and Sciences, has won this year’s Lawrence W. Levine Award for his book “Speaking with the Dead in Early America.”
  • Stephen Tiffany named SUNY Distinguished Professor
    The Empire Innovation Professor in the Department of Psychology, Stephen Tiffany is world-renowned expert on the study of addictions, developing theoretical models that have shaped the way experts in the field conceptualize the relationship between craving and addictive behavior.
  • Read appointed chair of NIH research review panel
    Jennifer Read, professor and director of clinical training in the Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences, has been appointed chair of a National Institutes of Health (NIH) research review subcommittee.