Graduate Student Directory

MAAP  Nida Ali nali3@buffalo.edu
MAH Yuxuan Xia yuxuanxi@buffalo.edu
MAH Ebru Bodur  ebrudodu@buffalo.edu
MAH Ishween Jolly ishweenj@buffalalo.edu
MAH  Hanyu Liao hanyulia@buffalo.edu
MFA Michael Spears mspears@buffalo.edu
MFA  Jacqueline Bast jbast@buffalo.edu
Virtual Reality, Physical Computing & Cognitive Psychology 
MFA  Shawn Combs shawncom@buffalo.edu
MFA  Annette Daniels Taylor ad87@buffalo.edu
MFA  Jonathan Doroski doroski@buffalo.edu
MFA Joan Nobile     joannobi@buffalo.edu
MFA 

Andrea Pagan anpagan@buffalo.edu
Research/production/interests - Sensing Media, Arduino, Raspberry Pi, Interactive Installations, Biofeedback

andreapagan.weebly.com
andidelmar@gmail.com

MFA 

Jess Printup jprintup@buffalo.edu
Sound compositions and experimental video within an installation (space), regarding the everyday 

www.jprintup.com

MFA  Togzhan Seilkhanova togzhans@buffalo.edu
MFA  Sara Stabley sarastab@buffalo.edu
MFA  Lee Terwilliger leeterwi@buffalo.edu
MFA Lewuga Benson  lewugabe@buffalo.edu
MFA  Yuxin Zhao yzhao47@buffalo.edu

 

PhD 

 

Leonardo Aranda larandab@buffalo.edu
Critical theory of technology, DIY and Critical Making, Locative media and ubiquitous computing, participatory and speculative design 

medialabmx.org/leonardo/

PhD 

John Patrick Ayson johnpatr@buffalo.edu
Relational Aesthetics, Physico-Digital Interactions, Gramscian Marxism 

johnpatrickayson.com

PHD Courtlin Byrd courtlin@buffalo.edu,
PhD  Anthony (Tra) Bouscaren
PhD  Taehyun Cho taehyunc@buffalo.edu
Film Narratology, Alternative Poetics, and Interactive Cinema 
PhD  Gabriela Cordoba Vivas cordobav@buffalo.edu
PhD  Nitasha Dhillon nitashad@buffalo.edu
PhD 

Scott Fitzgerald scottfit@buffalo.edu 
Networked devices, media infrastructure, machine learning, light, power.

ennuigo.com

PhD  Yvette Granata yvettegranata.com
PhD  Cortney Krueger
Media That Matters
PhD 

Susan McWhinney susanmcw@buffalo.edu
Smart Phone Cinema, Mobile Media, Frame, Data and Data Depth 

susanmcwhinney.com
cias.rit.edu/faculty-staff/246

 

PhD 

 

Mani Mehrvarz manimehr@buffalo.edu
Documentary, Telematic art, Generative art,  performance, German Media Theory, Cultural Techniques, Media Archaeology, Database, Post-history, Nostalgia, Analog, Moving-Image 

manimehrvarz.com
buffalodocumentaryproject.com

PhD

Azalia Primadita Muchransyah azaliapr@buffalo.edu
Recipient of DIKTI-Funded Fulbright Ph.D. Scholarship 2017. In 2013, she joined a team of researchers to study HIV Care Continuation for Prisoners in Indonesia and has co-written two internationally published journal articles. By looking into existing global studies and practicing different media-making techniques, her current project explores advocacy media (specifically AIDS Media), as well as national cinema, first-second-third-fourth cinema, documentary filmmaking & ethics, and affective media. Her short films include: Halal (2017), HIV/AIDS: Not A Death Sentence (2018), Alone, Together (2018), and Blue Film (2018). 

azalia.myportfolio.com
azaliapr@buffalo.edu

 

PhD 

 

Maryam Muliaee mmuliaee@buffalo.edu

Phenomenology of place, Heterotopia, Place making, Mapping, Memory and place, Displacement, Locative media, Sonic representation of a place, Lost places in urban geographies, Affective atmospheres. 

maryammuliaee.com

PhD 

Su Hyun Nam suhyunna@buffalo.edu
Improbable Landscape, Transcultural Identity, Meditative Computation  

suhyunnam.com

PhD  James Pollard jamespol@buffalo.edu
PhD 

Paul Sargent
mobile windmill tilting + outrage networking + speculative crank 

recycledcarbon.com

 

PhD 

 

Kalpana Subramanian kalpanas@buffalo.edu
Experimental film and media arts, trans-cultural aesthetics, film philosophy and embodiment 

kalpanasubramanian.com

PhD  Shawn Van Every vanevery@buffalo.edu
PhD 

Stanzi Vaubel stanziva@buffalo.edu
Documentary, Literature, Performance 

 

PhD  Ye Wang ywang253@buffalo.edu
PhD 

Anthony Yanick ajyanick@buffalo.edu
PhD Candidate

tonyyanick.art

PhD  Ridvan Yavuzr idvanyavuz.belli.biz  
PHD Jason Livingston  jasonliv@buffalo.edu