Graduate Student Directory

MS Sean Colgan seancolg@buffalo.edu
MS Alexander Solomon absolomo@buffalo.edu
MS  Kayleigh Young  kyoung23@buffalo.edu
MAH Alexandra Sommer aasommer@buffalo.edu
MAH Matthew Turner turner6@buffalo.edu  "Film Analysis, Criticism of Film, Queer Cinema, Contemporary Auteurism, Experimental Cinema, and Absurdism"
MAH Dheyazan Saleh dheyazan@buffalo.edu
MAH KeSean Redmond keseanre@buffalo.edu
MAH Danil Podsadnikov danilpod@buffalo.edu
MAH Chloe Kwiatkowski chloekwi@buffalo.edu
MAH    Ashley Gizzo  amgizzo@buffalo.edu
MAH
Faith Graham fgraham@buffalo.edu
MAH Yuxuan Xia yuxuanxi@buffalo.edu
MAH Ebru Bodur  ebrubodu@buffalo.edu
MAH Ishween Jolly ishweenj@buffalalo.edu
MFA
Olurotimi Akanbi akanbi@buffalo.edu
MFA
Annette Daniels Taylor ad87@buffalo.edu
MFA  Jonathan Doroski doroski@buffalo.edu
MFA Joan Nobile     joannobi@buffalo.edu video games + gaming communities, media theory + literacy, documentary film, digital art, parasocial relationships, stochastic terror, glitch aesthetics + theory. https://joannobile.myportfolio.com/
MFA Sean Mansfield seanmans@buffalo.edu
MFA
Famous Clark famouscl@buffalo.edu
MFA  Michael Jack Chernoff  macherno@buffalo.edu Intermedia Filmmaking, Landscape Documentary, Media Archeology, Techno-Determinism, Analog-to-Digital Video Processing & Glitch, New Media Installation, Formatting Perception, Fragmentary Media, Ideological Apparatuses www.michaeljackart.com
MFA  Jack Kincaid jackkinc@buffalo.edu Media study, spatial audio, stereo imaging, sound design, psychoacoustics, audio drama, postmodernism, expressionism, noir, psychophysics, psychology, neurology, music composition, music theory, musicology, multimodality, emulated synesthesia, and film theory.  Website: https://jackkincaid9.com
MFA  
Ahmed (Sammy) Maham asmaham@buffalo.edu
MFA  James Lamb jameslam@buffalo.edu
MFA Lewuga Benson  lewugabe@buffalo.edu
MFA Blake Barit bbarit@buffalo.edu
MFA  Jesse Rodkin jcrodkin@buffalo.edu

 

PhD 

 

Leonardo Aranda larandab@buffalo.edu
Critical theory of technology, DIY and Critical Making, Locative media and ubiquitous computing, participatory and speculative design 

medialabmx.org/leonardo/

PhD 

John Patrick Ayson johnpatr@buffalo.edu
Relational Aesthetics, Physico-Digital Interactions, Gramscian Marxism 

johnpatrickayson.com

PHD Courtlin Byrd courtlin@buffalo.edu,
PhD  Hanyu Liao hanyulia@buffalo.edu
PhD  Taehyun Cho taehyunc@buffalo.edu
Film Narratology, Alternative Poetics, and Interactive Cinema 
PhD  Gabriela Cordoba Vivas cordobav@buffalo.edu
PhD  Scott Fitzgerald scottfit@buffalo.edu 
Networked devices, media infrastructure, machine learning, light, power.ennuigo.com
PhD  Timothy Georger tpgeorge@buffalo.edu
PhD 

Susan McWhinney susanmcw@buffalo.edu
Smart Phone Cinema, Mobile Media, Frame, Data and Data Depth 

susanmcwhinney.com

PhD  James Pollard jamespol@buffalo.edu
PhD   Vav Vavrek crvavrek@buffalo.edu posthumanism, postcapitalism, crip technoscience, affect theory, affective computing, virtual environments, analog circuits, physical computing, machine learning,  experimental film/video/animation, creative-coding, sound art, multimedia installation, electronic waste, diy, critical making, object making

 

PhD 

 

Kalpana Subramanian kalpanas@buffalo.edu
Experimental film and media arts, trans-cultural aesthetics, film philosophy and embodiment 

kalpanasubramanian.com

PhD  Shawn Van Every vanevery@buffalo.edu
PhD  Ye Wang ywang253@buffalo.edu
PhD  Anthony Yanick ajyanick@buffalo.edu
PhD Candidate
PhD  Ridvan Yavuzr idvanyavuz.belli.biz  
PhD John Santomieri  jcs33@buffalo.edu
PhD Troy Williams  troywill@buffalo.edu
PHD Jason Livingston  jasonliv@buffalo.edu experimental nonfiction; energy humanities; capitalism and nature; political imagination
MArch/MFA Timothy Zeng tzeng2@buffalo.edu