Political science major Gunnar Haberl elected Student Association president

Anyssa Evelyn, Gunnar Haberl and Tanahiry Escamilla.

Anyssa Evelyn, Gunnar Haberl and Tanahiry Escamilla

Published March 30, 2018

It was no nail-biter, but elections for the 2018-2019 Student Association executive board still managed to bring over 650 students out to vote. The turnout is an improvement since the last time an SA e-board ran unopposed in 2015 when only 217 students voted.

Elections coordinator Jacob Brown announced the R.E.A.L party’s victory on Thursday in the SA office after a three-day election. Presidential candidate Gunnar Haberl, junior political science and legal studies major, and vice presidential candidate Anyssa Evelyn, junior health and human services major, received 614 votes. Treasurer candidate Tanahiry Escamilla, junior chemical and biological engineering major, received 515 of the total 657 votes, as students were allowed to vote for the presidential ticket without voting for a treasurer.