Congratulations to our 2017-18 Scholarship and Award Winners!

The Kogut Brothers of New York Mills Economic Development Award for 2017/18 – $6300
Recipient: Taylor Anderson.
Taylor is a first-year MS student in our new Econometrics and Quantitative Economics program, which recently received STEM status. Taylor earned a bachelor’s double major degree in Economics and Environmental Studies in 2015 from Hobart and William Smith Colleges, where she was a defender on the William Smith lacrosse team, all the while maintaining a highly respectable GPA. Taylor is actively involved in the Westminster Economic Development Initiative as an unpaid economic development intern. She plans to pursue a career that allows her to use her quantitative skills to help formulate policies to assist struggling communities.

The William A. Strauss Economics Scholarship 2017/18 – $4300
Recipient: Dania Abul-Enin
. Dania is an Economics and Business Administration double major in her junior year. She maintains a nearly perfect overall GPA and a perfect GPA in Economics courses. Dania interns for the Federal Courthouse and also volunteers as both a teaching assistant and a tutor for the UB athletic team. Dania was a dedicated member of UB’s rowing team until the program was discontinued. Thinking ahead to someday becoming a corporate attorney, Dania is looking to pursue MBA and JD degrees.

The Matthew Scarpati Endowed Scholarship Fund 2017/18 – $3400
Recipient: Lucas Grisanti
. Lucas is an Economics major with a minor in Statistics in his junior year. Lucas turned to economics after pursuing a year of Political Science courses. Lucas maintains a praiseworthy overall GPA and an exemplary GPA in Economics courses. He plans to apply to Ph.D. programs in Economics. Lucas is interested in game theory and behavioral economics and hopes to use his skills as an economist to help others, especially low-income members of society.

The Department of Economics is grateful to all of our contributors: 

• The Kogut Brothers of New York Mills Economic Development Award, est. 2007 – Frederick J. Kogut and Nina F. Kogut-Akkum, donors
• The Matthew Scarpati Endowed Scholarship, est. 2010 – James and Lynn Scarpati, donors
• The William A. Strauss Economics Scholarship Award, est. 2012 – William A. Strauss, donor