Visiting Scholars

Vanessa M. Holden                                   
Interdisciplinary projects (arts, social sciences,                                  Assistant Professor of History and               
African American Studies); public history/digital                               African American Studies, University
history; queer/LGBTQ history and studies                                          of Kentucky

Nicholas K. Githuku
History and evolution of the African state;                                         Assistant Professor of African
philosophy of history; history of political ideas;                                 History, York College, CUNY
human rights, development and democratic
governance issues in Africa south of the Sahara;
auto/biography theory and history; military history/
evolution of international law of war (memory and
memorialization of war).

Affiliated Faculty

Barbara Bono

Shakespeare, 16th and 17th century English literature

Department of English

Email: bbono@buffalo.edu

Carrie Bramen

Post-Civil War American literature, multicultural fiction, contemporary Latino literature and cultural theory

Department of English

Email: bramen@acsu.buffalo.edu

Kah Kyung Cho

Phenomenology, existentialism and hermeneutics

Department of Philosophy

Email: kcho@buffalo.edu

James Currie

18th and 19th c. musicology, intellectual and cultural history

Department of Music

Email: jcurrie@buffalo.edu

John Dugan

Roman cultural history, history of the late Roman republic, Cicero

Department of Classics

Email: jdugan@buffalo.edu

Stephen Dyson

Roman history and archaeology, Roman Italy and Western Empire

Department of Classics

Email: cldyson@buffalo.edu

David Engel

Comparative Law, US & Thailand

School of Law

Email: dmengel@buffalo.edu

Michael Farrell

Social Psychology, Sociology of the Family, Sociology of Small Groups, Friendship Groups, Adolescence

Department of Sociology

Email: ofarrell@buffalo.edu

David Fertig

German linguistics

Department of Linguistics

Email: fertig@buffalo.edu

Walter Hakala

South Asian Languages and Literature

Department of English and Asian Studies Program

Email: walterha@buffalo.edu