Scholarships and Awards

silhouette of student studying.

The Department of History has been fortunate to benefit from bequests and donations that support our undergraduate students. Our scholarships reward academic merit, commend strong character and work ethic, aid underrepresented minorities, and support students’ study abroad plans. We are grateful to those who provide the means for students to undertake adventurous study abroad plans and to focus on their core academic studies here at the University at Buffalo.

Stop by the Department (544 Park Hall) to pick-up an application.

Office Hours for the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Professor Trumper:

By appointment


Department of History:

Department Hours: 8:30am-5:00pm  

Phone Number: (716) 645-2182


Milton Plesur Scholarship

History Department Scholarship

Full-time history majors who have compiled outstanding records in history are eligible to apply for a Plesur Scholarship, named after Professor Milton Plesur (1927-1987). Professor Plesur devoted his career to teaching, and bequeathed his estate to the university for the continued of support UB students. Awards will be made to students who can demonstrate the most serious interest in and commitment to history as evidenced by academic record, extra-curricular activities, and career plans.  A sophomore awardee who continues to compile an excellent record in his or her junior year may reapply for a second year of support for the senior year.

Joyce J. and John D. Milligan and Family Scholarships

Full-time history majors from underrepresented minorities, with good academic credentials and personal characteristics (attitude, personality, citizenship, and leadership) are invited to apply for a Milligan Scholarship.  Awards are made to prospective juniors and seniors annually.  This scholarship is made available through the generosity of John D. Milligan, a long-time History Department faculty member, his late wife Joyce who served the Department as a secretary, their daughter Jacqueline, a dedicated teacher of English as a Second Language at UB, and two other daughters, Elizabeth and Polla, both residents of Buffalo. Preference will be given to African-American students from Western New York who have financial need. The junior award is renewable in the senior year at the discretion of the chair of the History Department. Students can apply for this scholarship through Academic Works.

History Department Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship

The History Department announces its inaugural History Department Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship for Undergraduate History Majors at UB. The Department will award up to eight Undergraduate Diversity Scholarships for students entering their Sophomore, Junior or Senior year in the Academic Year 2020-2021, each in the amount of $3,500 (roughly equivalent to one semester of tuition). We are particularly excited to support students who can demonstrate that they contribute to the diversity of the student body, especially those who can show that they have overcome a disadvantage or other impediments to success in higher education.

Applicants must complete the Department Scholarship Application, indicating their interest in the History Department Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship, by May 1, 2020.

History Department Internship Scholarship

The History Department believes firmly in the value of experiential learning and public history as fundamental to the experience of our majors. Beginning Spring 2020, the Department will offer scholarships for students enrolling in the Department’s Internship course, HIS 496. The Department’s Public History Internship course allows our students to explore the many and diverse ways in which history is put to work in the world, complementing their class work with valuable, hands-on experience in museums, historical societies, cultural or preservation organizations, and non-profits. The History Department Internship Scholarship recognizes the value of the internship by establishing a competitive award of $1000 for students engaging in projects with particularly strong public history merit, payable at the completion of the course. Students interested in a Summer 2020 internship must submit an application, including a short description of the value of the project, by May 1, 2020. We will accept applications on a rolling basis thereafter.

Undergraduate Research Paper Prize

Each Spring the Department awards a prize for the best honors thesis or substantial research paper written in that academic year. The prize is awarded in honor of Professor Patricia Mazón, a historian of Germany who retired from the department in 2017.  The author of the winning paper will receive a cash prize and will be recognized at graduation. Papers should be emailed to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Dr. Camilo Trumper.

Bryan G. Argo Memorial Scholarship

History majors who are residents of Niagara or Erie county and full-time students in their junior or senior year and working at least part-time who have compiled an over-all grade point average of at least 3.0 are eligible for the Bryan G. Argo Memorial Scholarship. Applicants should submit a letter of reference from a current professor or civic or spiritual leader and write a personal statement as described in the application. The scholarship awards demonstrated family values, integrity, and personal achievements. This award is made each year through the generosity of the family and friends of Bryan Argo, a History student who was devoted to family and friends, believed strongly in continuing education, and whose promising life was tragically cut short. The scholarship is awarded in the fall to be used during that current academic year. The Argo Memorial Scholarship form is available on Academic Works.

Milton Plesur and Schoellkopf Awards for Study Abroad

Each year the History Department awards study abroad scholarships to qualified History majors enrolling in a recognized summer, semester, winter intersession, or year-long study abroad program. Study abroad scholarship forms are available online and at the Reception Office of the History Department (Park 544),  and should be submitted there in hard copy and in person. The department holds a competition in the fall for spring semester study abroad and one in the spring for summer, fall, and full academic year programs.

Additional Opportunities

The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) also maintains a list of scholarships and awards made available to undergraduate students within the College.