Department Highlights

  • Hao Zeng received Chancellor Award
    Join us in congratulating Prof. Hao Zeng, Moti Lal Rustgi Professor, 
    to receiving the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, June 2023
  • NSF Career Award Winners
    Our esteemed faculty currently include nine NSF Career award-winners.
  • Igor Zutic named SUNY Distinguished Professor
    Join us in congratulating Prof. Igor Zutic to his appointment to the distinguished professor rank by the SUNY Board of Trustees on Dec. 13, 2022. See also the announcement in UBNow here.
  • Two Students Win 2022 Goldwater Scholarship
    Please join us in congratulating Paul Dewan Jr. and Krish Patel on receiving the 2022 Goldwater Scholarship!
  • UB to host panel discussion on war in Ukraine
    Spearheaded by Avto Kharchilava, Profesor of Physics, and Katherine Zubovich, Assistant Professor of History, a group of UB experts will host a panel discussion on May 11, 2022, 5:30pm, 109 Knox Hall.
  • Nobel laureate Whittingham to speak at UB
    M. Stanley Whittingham, winner of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, will deliver the Department of Physics' 7th Ta-You Wu lecture in April 29, 2022, 5pm, NSC 225.
  • Professor Surajit Sen named 2020-2021 Jefferson Science Fellow
    Congratulations to Professor Sen! From August 2020 to August 2021 he will be working full time as a science advisor at the US Agency for International Development in Washington, D.C..
  • Student Wins 2019 Goldwater Scholarship
    Please join us in congratulating Hannah Seppala on receiving the 2019 Goldwater Scholarship!
  • Anne Fortman and Tyler Barrett win 2018 NSF Fellowships
    Congratulations to Anne (particle physics) and Tyler (theoretical physics) for winning NSF Graduate Research Fellowships !
  • Student Wins 2017 Goldwater Scholarship
    Please join us in congratulating Anne Fortman on receiving the 2017 Goldwater Scholarship!