Recent News

Department Highlights

Anne Fortman


Our esteemed faculty currently include nine NSF Career award-winners.

Graduate student Geoffrey Fatin received a perfect physics GRE score in 2016. Congratulations, Geoffrey! We hope your accomplishment encourages future students to study up – it can be done!

Please join us in congratulating Anne Fortman on receiving the 2017 Goldwater Scholarship!

Recent Research News

Thanks to a generous donation from Dr. Om Bahethi and Mrs. Saraswati Bahethi, the Physics Department has given out three Om and Saraswati Bahethi Scholarship for PhD Students, two scholarship for Masters Students, and one Undergraduate Scholarship.

Color is a central tool for describing the world around us, for artists and scientists alike.


The honors come from the American Chemical Society, IEEE and the Optical Society.


UB physicist helps prove that strongly nonlinear systems can reach equilibrium after all.

Research News by Area