Scholarship and Award Winners

Every year the Department of History awards several graduate and undergraduate awards and scholarships. 

2023 Scholarship and Award Winners


Yearley Award

Brandon Burger

Milton Plesur Pre-Doctoral Fellowship

Ryan Adams
Angela Gallagher
Jenna Labbie
Shu Wan

Outstanding MA Thesis Prize

James Coughlin
“City of Distant Neighbors: The Proliferation and Entrenchment of Residential Segregation in Buffalo, New York (1934 to 1961)”

Honorable Mention:
Molly McCreedy
“’The World is Afraid of Black Female Champions:’ Colonialism and Racial Othering in Women’s Sport


College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Senior Award

Russel Bassarath

Department of History Outstanding Senior Award

Noah Bruster

Milton Plesur Memorial Scholarship

Rafi Ahmed
Atallia Brown
Rebecca McGlynn
Elizabeth Mellors
Leah Perry
Elliot Seminario
Fiona Serrano
Darcy Winter

Bryan G. Argo Memorial Scholarship

John Graber

Joyce J. and John D. Milligan and Family Scholarship

Joshua Brice

Department of History Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship

Zachary Henry-Daniel
Alexia Lodes
Melanie Thompson

Department of History Merit Scholarship

Mia Delap
Montana Desabio
Isabella DiMura
Mary Dixon
Megan Dreher
Jacob Klink
Aurora Liu
Teresa Sciandra
Kate Stiglmeier
Hongyu Zhao

Schoellkopf Award for Study Abroad

Nicholas Sarris

Best Undergraduate Thesis Prize

Ryan Cocchiarella
“Media, Drugs, and their Role in Shaping the Memory of the Vietnam War” 

Best Undergraduate Seminar Paper Prize

Michael Rechichi
“William Dampier’s Travels in the Pacific Ocean”