Fellowships, Assistantships and Awards

Support for Incoming Graduate Students

A limited number of the following assistantships and fellowships are available to accepted PhD candidates: 

  • Graduate Teaching Assistantship (Tuition scholarship + $16,500 stipend per year)
  • Presidential Fellowship (Tuition scholarship + $24,500 stipend per year)
  • Dean's Fellowship (Tuition scholarship + $20,500 stipend per year)

Accepted Master's applicants, and accepted PhD applicants who do not receive an assistantship or fellowship, may be eligible for assistance through the College of Arts and Sciences or the University at Buffalo

Further Fellowship Opportunities for Current Graduate Students

In addition to the teaching or research positions offer, the department awarded in 2017/18 fellow- and scholarships totaling more than $80,000 to current graduate students. The following awards have been made available to graduate students through the Department of Physics and the generosity of donors. 

CAMBI Fellowship

The CAMBI Fellowship promotes the pursuit of interdisciplinary biological physics graduate research, and retention of the best and brightest graduate students in physics. This fellowship is awarded based on a student’s demonstration of excellence in their first year of graduate study, and supplies financial support in addition to the recipient's annual stipend. 


Both domestic and international students are eligible for the award. All applicants must:

  1. Demonstrate excellent academic achievement through a minimum 3.0 GPA based on core physics courses.
  2. Demonstrate excellent research achievement through independent study in biological physics under the supervision of one of the biological physics faculty.
  3. Have completed no more that 12 months of graduate study at the University at Buffalo.

To Apply:

Applicants must submit an application letter, including their current GPA, and a one-page proposal on the biological physics research they intend to pursue at UB. 

The annual deadline is July 1. Faculty in biological physics will choose the recipient on or before April 30. If chosen to receive this fellowship, the recipient must commit his/her efforts to summer research in biological physics in the Department of Physics.

For further information on this fellowship, please contact the Director of Graduate Studies.

Frank B. Silvestro Fellowship

The Frank B. Silvestro Fellowship is available through a generous endowment from Frank B. Silvestro, UB class of '62 and '68. Currently, these funds are used to support students pursuing graduate degrees. Most years, more than one award is available. 


Every graduate student in the Department of Physics is eligible for this fellowship, though preference will be given to students who show academic promise and demonstrate financial need. 

To Apply:

Students must self-nominate in the form of a letter directed to the chairman of the Silvestro Scholarship Committee in the Department of Physics. The letter should include details of the student's academic progress, and the financial assistance required to continue graduate studies in physics. If a student has made a decision about their future research, or selected an advisor, they should include this information in the letter. 

John Ho and Martha Leung Scholarship

The John Ho and Martha Leung Scholarship was established in 2015 with a generous endowment from physics colleague Professor John Ho and his wife, Dr. Martha Leung. This scholarship aims to provide support to physics graduate students in their academic pursuits. Currently, this scholarship recognizes the academic achievement of early-career graduate students, particularly those who come to UB without additional support. 

For further information on this scholarship, please contact the Director of Graduate Studies.

Physics Department Fellowship for Outstanding Graduate Students

The Physics Department Fellowship for Outstanding Graduate Students has been established to reward exceptional performance by a graduate student in physics. The goal is to reward as many high-performaning students as possible. One or two fellowships are expected to be awarded annually. 


The primary criterion for this fellowship is the research progress a student has achieved since arriving at UB. Other academic achievements and past awards will also be taken into consideration. All graduate students in the Department of Physics are eligible, providing they (A) are in their 3rd to 6th year, and (B) did not join the department with a Presidential Fellowship or Dean's Scholarship.

To Apply:

Applicants must supply:

  1. A one-page self-nomination cover letter, explaining why the applicant deserves the award, based on their most important research experience and accomplishment.
  2. A one-page resume listing all academic accomplishments, including published papers (with full references); manuscripts submitted or in preparation; research presentations; external awards won; GPA; and any other information that reflects on the applicant's noteworthy achievements. 
  3. A reference email from the applicant's faculty advisor endorsing the nomination and providing any additional insights and/or supporting evidence.

Applicants must submit items 1 and 2 to the Director of Undergraduate Studies. Item 3 must be supplied to the Director of Graduate Studies by the faculty advisor. 

The annual deadline is April 15.

For further information on this fellowship, please contact the Director of Graduate Studies.

Physics International Graduate Student Memorial Fund

The Physics Graduate Students Memorial Fund was established in January 2010 with a generous endowment from former CAS Dean Bruce D. McCombe, SUNY Distinguished Professor, in memory of three former UB graduate students: Christian Meining, Yong-Jie Wang and Taeman Yeo. This fund will be used to provide assistance to international graduate students, with preference given to Asian students and first-year PhD candidates who demonstrate financial need and academic promise. Funds are awarded annually.

For further information on this fund, please contact the Director of Graduate Studies.

For further information on these awards, as well as general financial aid information for graduate students in physics, please contact Prof. Xuedong Hu, director of Graduate Studies.