Two Students Win 2022 Goldwater Scholarship

Join us in congratulating undergraduate students Krish Patel and Paul Dewan Jr., the recipients of the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater scholarship 2022. In the past decade, the physics department has mentored 7 out of the 22 winners from the University at Buffalo.

We also invite you to learn more in the UB Now


Professor Igor Zutic and postdoc Gaofeng Xu are the mentors of Krish Patel who has a career goal of elucidating physical models and materials implementation to guide innovative solutions that would revolutionize information technology and artificial intelligence.


Professor Priya R. Banerjee is the mentor of Paul Dewan Jr. who has a career goal to understand how the physics of biological systems is dictated by their genetic design.