UB Social Work Students Receive Awards at Commencement

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: June 15, 2006

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Fourteen students attending the University at Buffalo School of Social Work received awards during the school's recent commencement ceremony.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, the largest and most comprehensive campus in the State University of New York system. UB's more than 27,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. The university offers the only degrees in law, pharmacy and architecture in the SUNY system, and is the home of the only comprehensive public school of engineering in New York State.

Students who received awards were:

• Sara Allen of Grand Island, the Kristopher L. Braselton Memorial Award, presented to a graduating M.S.W. student from the health/mental health/disabilities concentration who has exhibited sensitivity and caring toward others, supportiveness of his/her classmates, a sense of humor and a distinct ability to make another's day a bit brighter.

• Janelle Tona of Buffalo, the Niles Carpenter Scholarship. Named after the first dean of the School of Social Work, this scholarship is given to a student who has finished the foundation curriculum of the M.S.W. program and plans to return for the concentration coursework.

• Amy Krapf of Amherst, the Louisa Cielen Scholarship. Established by Emil J. Cielen, this annual award is presented to a meritorious student entering his/her final year of the M.S.W. program with a commitment in the field of health.

• Frances Saad of Williamsville, the Haseltine T. Clements Memorial Fund Award, given to a graduating student who has demonstrated a concern for human dignity and interracial relationships in his/her field performance or through participation in cross-cultural activities to enhance interracial relationships.

• Colleen Walker of Lockport, the Terese M. Eusanio Memorial

Scholarship recognizing and supporting a continuing part-time M.S.W. student who demonstrates an interest in working in an area of women's health.

• Andrea Sherman of Elmira Heights, the Dena P. Gold Memorial Award, given to a student for outstanding study, fieldwork or other contributions related to families, women or children.

• Rachel Bigenwald of Fairport, the Dorothy L. Lynn Honorary Award recognizing a student who has demonstrated consistently outstanding performance in class and in the field during the foundation years of the degree program.

• Marva Carroll of Flagstaff, Ariz., the NASW (National Association of Social Workers) Award Western New York Division, presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence and personified values that are enunciated by the NASW.

• Rebecca Boucher of Niagara on the Lake, the School of Social Work Alumni Association Award, presented to a student who has completed the foundation curriculum and has demonstrated practice skills, relationship-building with clients and a commitment to the social work profession in the field education experience.

• JoAnn Speight of Lockport, the School of Social Work Outstanding Student of the Year Award, given to a graduating student who has demonstrated academic excellence; leadership abilities within the school, community or university; and a commitment to the social work profession through his/her role as a student, colleague or member of the community.

• Henry Kohler of Buffalo, the Julian Sodja Memorial Fund Award, presented to a graduating student who has made an extraordinary contribution to addictions practice, addicted trauma survivors, and/or people with coexisting psychiatric disorders.

• Julie Pasquale of Buffalo, the Betty W. Stovroff Scholarship Award, presented to an outstanding full-time student or students working toward a M.S.W. or Ph.D. degree.

  • Lindsay Smith of Liverpool, the Archie W. Swanson Honorary Award, presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated in fieldwork practice professional integrity, creativity, respect for the dignity of people, warmth and keen sensitivity.

• Julie Momot of Lancaster, the Thorn and Rose Award, presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated integrity, maturity, collegiality and volunteerism.

Also recognized at commencement was Deborah Waldrop of East Amherst, associate professor in the School of Social Work, who received the School of Social Work Graduate Student Association Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award. The award recognizes a member of the faculty who embodies the key qualities of commitment to student learning: dedication to his/her role as social worker, teacher, faculty member, citizen of the community and role model; contributor to the furthering and betterment of the social work profession; and overall excellence in teaching.