Departmental Honors

These honors are given for outstanding achievement in film, video, digital arts and media scholarship, as well as outstanding service to the university and community. Solicitation for departmental awards are emailed to all students late in the spring semester. The selection committee reviews applications and awards will be presented during the 5:30pm Zoom event on May 13th! 

Jump to:

Gregory Capasso Memorial Award (Outstanding Senior)

Awards presented for outstanding creative work in film, video, digital arts and media scholarship, and creative writing in media.

This award was established in Memory of Gregory Capasso a student in the Department of Media Study. Gregory loved films, writing, and most of all life and making people laugh. This award is made possible by the Gregory Capasso Endowment fund established by his family and friends.


Cydney Teeter Webs Video

WEBS  (2021)

Cydney Teeter

Digital Media Study Production Concentration - class of 2021

Pierre McAloon Memorial Award

Presented for excellence in creative work in film.

The Pierre McAloon Memorial Award was established by the family and friends of DMS student Pierre McAloon. Pierre died shortly after the completion of his documentary film “Corridor.” This memorial award recognizes Media Study film students who demonstrate talent and vision through their Art.


Willet Video

The Wachelor  (2020)

Ryan Willet

Aaron Ettestad Pathways Video

pathways (2021)

Aaron Ettestad

Digital Media Study Production Concentration, Business management minor and Global film studies minor - class of 2021

Shubh Jain Video

aether  (2020)

Shubh Jain

Comics in Crisis Video

Comics in Crisis  (2020)

John Gorzynski

Mark Wilkin Video

Disassembly Line (2021)

Mark Wilkin

Digital Media Study Production Concentration - class of 2021

Damahya Evans

Derek Chin

Amal Elhelw

Christine Chen

Joshua Rizzo

Levy-King-White Scholarships

Presented for academic achievement and demonstrated financial need.

This award was established by the Levy King and White Companies, Inc. and is awarded to students in recognition of their outstanding academic and excellent work in Media Study.


sjreeb Video

Liveable (2020)

Samantha Reeb

Digital Media Study Production Concentration, Comp sci minor and Spanish minor - class of 2020

2021 DMS Courses