Meet Our Graduate Students

PhD students

Name Email Areas of Study
Daniel Bagnell bagnall@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Urban Sociology, Labor
Christopher Bosley cmbosley@buffalo.edu Occupations and Work, Mental Health, Emotions, Social Psychology
Gabriela Ceja Morales gcejamor@buffalo.edu Sociology of work and industry; Labor markets; Corporate impact; Social inequality; Environmental justice
Yu-An Chen ychen286@buffalo.edu Health Disparities, Medical Sociology, Food, Environmental Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Hsiao-Wen Chiang hsiaowen@buffalo.edu Immigration, Race and Ethnicity, Urban Sociology
Michael Cimasi mccimasi@buffalo.edu Law & Society, Higher Education, Organizations and Institutions, Urban Sociology & Medical Gentrification
J Coley jcoley@buffalo.edu Race, Residential Segregation, Gentrification
Kristen Connolly klconnol@buffalo.edu Drugs and Addiction, Crime and the Law, Inequality
Shiyue Cui shiyuecu@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Social Policy, Work and Labor
Willis Danielson willisda@buffalo.edu

Urbanization; Infrastructures; Sustainability

Sara DiPasquale saradipa@buffalo.edu Inequalities among marginalized identities, specifically gender and sexuality; language patterns
Zachary Evans zacharye@buffalo.edu Public Policy, Political Economy, Media, Urban Economics, Political Demography
Francisco Figueroa fafiguer@buffalo.edu Racial and Economic Residential Segregation, Law and Social Policy, Social Structure and Personality, Self and Self-Concept
Gregory Hall gmhall@buffalo.edu Criminology, Urban Sociology, Community, Housing Inequality, Inequality and Stratification, Culture
Rui Huang rhuang27@buffalo.edu

Medical Sociology

Emily Jauch emilyjau@buffalo.edu Gender; Sex and sexuality; The body; Reproductive politics; Health; Qualitative methods
Eileen Keh eileenke@buffalo.edu Family, Aging, Health, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, East Asia
Byung Soo Lee byungsoo@buffalo.edu Sociology of Family, Immigration, Inequality, Life Course, and Sociology of Education
Jiaying Lin Jlin328@buffalo.edu Family studies; Gender inequality; Chinese studies
Ting-Hui Lin Tlin53@buffalo.edu Social policy; Social welfare; Disability studies; Aging and the life course; Inequality; Qualitative Methods
Wei Luo wluo3@buffalo.edu Quantitative Research Methods, Sociology of Health
Natalia Marte nmarte@buffalo.edu Critical Race Theory, Law, Mass Incarceration and Policing
Matthew McLeskey mhmclesk@buffalo.edu Urban sociology; Social & sociological theory; Law & society; Qualitative methods; Poverty & inequalities; Environmental sociology; Social problems; Cultural sociology
Laura Obernesser lauraobe@buffalo.edu Family and family inequalities; Aging, gender, and the life course; Health and wellbeing, Generations and society; Kinship relationships and care work; Qualitative methods

Anupriya Pandey

apandey8@buffalo.edu Theory, Culture and Environment, Inequality, Qualitative methods
Surabhi Pant spant2@buffalo.edu Gender, Sexuality and Body Politics, Queer Politics and Social Movements
Margaret Rex mrex@buffalo.edu Political Sociology, Political Extremism and Anti-governmentality, Social Stratification
Julia Schoonover jjschoon@buffalo.edu Human Rights, Immigration, Law & Social Policy
Jennifer Schweitzer jjschwei@buffalo.edu Gender, Social Inequalities, Criminology, Social Policy, Law
Youlhee Seo youlhees@buffalo.edu Adolescence, Socialization, Lifecourse
Srushti Upadhyay srushtiu@buffalo.edu Sociology of Gender, Sexuality, Criminology
Siqi Wang swang36@buffalo.edu Inequality in Health, Cultural Participation
Zhe Wang zwang86@buffalo.edu Urban Sociology, Culture, Family
Miranda Workman mkworkma@buffalo.edu Animals & Society, Environment, Family, Theory
Zhe (Rachel) Zhang Zzhang67@buffalo.edu Urban sociology; Gender studies; Quantitative methods

MA Students

Name Email Areas of Study
Theresa Beyer  trbeyer@buffalo.edu Environmental sociology; Social inequalities
Greg Buell gmbuell@buffalo.edu Political sociology; Military sociology
Spencer Cameron-Presley sacamero@buffalo.edu Life course sociology; Early childhood socialization
Jeremy Carr jjcarr@buffalo.edu Criminology; Incarceration policy reform; Criminal justice & punishment; Deviance & recidivism
Jean Carroll jeancarr@buffalo.edu Race; Gender; Class; Social policy
Yaolin (Miranda) Chen yaolinch@buffalo.edu Urban sociology; Food studies; Participatory community planning 
Gianna Galasso
gmgalass@buffalo.edu Families; Crime; Behavior
Willow Greene willowgr@buffalo.edu Labor; Gender; Race
Tunazzina Kaijar tunazzin@buffalo.edu Race; Class; Family; Health
Tora Rodriguez torarodr@buffalo.edu Gender and Sexuality; Sociology of Emotions; Immigration; Colonialism, Bodies, and Policy; Latinx Studies
Allen Tabor emmettta@buffalo.edu Criminology; Life Course Sociology; Substance Use & Addiction Studies; Sociology of Law
Chelsey Wilbern  clwilber@buffalo.edu Criminology; Criminal justice; Social inequalities