Meet Our Graduate Students

PhD students

Name Email Areas of Interest
Daniel Bagnell bagnall@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Urban Sociology, Labor
Christopher Bosley cmbosley@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Occupations and Work, Research Methods
Gabriela Ceja Morales gcejamor@buffalo.edu Sociology of work and industry; Labor markets; Corporate impact; Social inequality; Environmental justice
Yu-An Chen ychen286@buffalo.edu Health Disparities, Medical Sociology, Food, Environmental Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Michael Cimasi mccimasi@buffalo.edu Law & Society, Higher Education, Organizations and Institutions, Urban Sociology & Medical Gentrification
J Coley jcoley@buffalo.edu Race, Residential Segregation, Gentrification
Shiyue Cui shiyuecu@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Social Policy, Work and Labor
Kathleen D'Alfonso krdalfon@buffalo.edu Gerontology, Life Course, Sociology of Health and Illness, Social Inequality, Latino Paradox, Cumulative Disadvantage
Ayesha Datta ayeshada@buffalo.edu  Internal and global migration, statelessness, markers of identity, gender, informal sectors of work, refugee livelihood, unpaid care work
Sara DiPasquale saradipa@buffalo.edu Inequalities among marginalized identities, specifically gender and sexuality; language patterns
Zachary Evans zacharye@buffalo.edu Public Policy, Political Economy, Media, Urban Economics, Political Demography
Chandler Fairbanks cnfairba@buffalo.edu Gender, Sexuality, Masculinity, Childhood, Media, Qualitative Methods
Francisco Figueroa fafiguer@buffalo.edu Racial and Economic Residential Segregation, Law and Social Policy, Social Structure and Personality, Self and Self-Concept
Asli Guler asligule@buffalo.edu Gender, Family, Inequality, Organizations, Environmental Sociology
Rui Huang rhuang27@buffalo.edu

Medical Sociology; Illness and inequality; Pain; Life Course, Quantitative Methods

Emily Jauch emilyjau@buffalo.edu Gender; Sex and sexuality; The body; Reproductive politics; Health; Qualitative methods
Eileen Keh eileenke@buffalo.edu Family, Aging, Health, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, East Asia
Byung Soo Lee byungsoo@buffalo.edu Sociology of Family, Immigration, Inequality, Life Course, and Sociology of Education
Jiaying Lin Jlin328@buffalo.edu Law & Society; Life Course; Chinese Studies
Ting-Hui Lin Tlin53@buffalo.edu Social policy; Social welfare; Disability studies; Aging and the life course; Inequality; Qualitative Methods
Wei Luo wluo3@buffalo.edu Quantitative Research Methods, Sociology of Health
Natalia Marte nmarte@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Criminology, Critical Race Theory, Policing and Prisons, Social Inequality
Matthew McLeskey mhmclesk@buffalo.edu Urban sociology; Social & sociological theory; Law & society; Qualitative methods; Poverty & inequalities; Environmental sociology; Social problems; Cultural sociology
Laura Obernesser lauraobe@buffalo.edu Family and family inequalities; Aging, gender, and the life course; Health and wellbeing, Generations and society; Kinship relationships and care work; Qualitative methods
Oluwafisayo Ogundoro osogundo@buffalo.edu Gender, Work, Childcare, Family, Social Policy

Anupriya Pandey

apandey8@buffalo.edu Theory, Culture and Environment, Inequality, Qualitative methods
Surabhi Pant spant2@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology, Political Economy, Classical and Contemporary Theory, Qualitative Methods, Gender and Development
Margaret Rex mrex@buffalo.edu Political Sociology, Political Extremism and Anti-governmentality, Social Stratification
Julia Schoonover jjschoon@buffalo.edu Human Rights, Immigration, Law & Social Policy
Jennifer Schweitzer jjschwei@buffalo.edu Gender, Social Inequalities, Criminology, Social Policy, Law
Youlhee Seo youlhees@buffalo.edu Adolescence, Socialization, Lifecourse
Srushti Upadhyay srushtiu@buffalo.edu Sex and sexuality; The body; Sociology of Gender; Criminology
Siqi Wang swang36@buffalo.edu Inequality in Health, Cultural Participation
Zhe Wang zwang86@buffalo.edu Urban Sociology, Culture, Family
Ayrlia Welch ayrliawe@buffalo.edu Occupations and Work, Aging, Life Course, Family, and Sociology of Higher Education, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Michelle Williams mw233@buffalo.edu Work and labor, gender and sexuality, the working class, rural sociology
Zhe (Rachel) Zhang Zzhang67@buffalo.edu Urban sociology; Gender studies; Quantitative methods

MA / MS Students

Name Email Areas of Interest
Aissata Barry aissatab@buffalo.edu  
Stephen Brown sjbrown5@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology, Happiness, Poverty, Occupations and Work, Technology, Social Inequality
Jeremy Carr jjcarr@buffalo.edu Criminology; Incarceration policy reform; Criminal justice & punishment; Deviance & recidivism
Miranda Farthing mrfarthi@buffalo.edu Violent serial offenders, Childhood effects on crime, the Macdonald Triad
Gianna Galasso
gmgalass@buffalo.edu Families; Crime; Behavior
Celina Gregory celinagr@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology, Sociology of Law, Criminology
Yuhang Li yli298@buffalo.edu Theory; Historical Sociology; Economic Sociology
Dominic Nappo dlnappo@buffalo.edu Gender and Sexuality; Bioethics
Ashlyn Oaks ashlynoa@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Inequalities, Social Policy, Social Psychology
Tora Rodriguez torarodr@buffalo.edu Gender and Sexuality; Sociology of Emotions; Immigration; Colonialism, Bodies, and Policy; Latinx Studies
Grace Sementilli gracesem@buffalo.edu Urban sociology, wealth disparities, housing discrimination, sociology of families
Gillian Skidmore glskidmo@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology; Animal Studies
Allen Tabor emmettta@buffalo.edu
Chang (Rita) Yu cyu33@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology; Poverty; Social Inequality; Rural Issues in China