Meet Our Graduate Students

PhD students

Name Email Areas of Interest
Jonas Adams jonasada@buffalo.edu
Urban Sociology; Neighborhood Change; Race and Ethnic Relations; Social Inequalities
Daniel Bagnall bagnall@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Urban Sociology, Labor
Christopher Bosley cmbosley@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Sociology of Work, Healthcare Workforce, Quantitative Methods
Gabriela Ceja Morales gcejamor@buffalo.edu Sociology of Work, Urban Sociology, Environmental Sociology, Sociology of Tourism
Yu-An Chen ychen286@buffalo.edu Health Disparities, Medical Sociology, Food, Environmental Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Michael Cimasi mccimasi@buffalo.edu Law & Society, Higher Education, Organizations and Institutions, Urban Sociology & Medical Gentrification
J Coley jcoley@buffalo.edu Race and Racism, Social Inequality, Gentrification, Housing, Public Policy
Shiyue Cui shiyuecu@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Social Policy, Work and Labor
Kathleen D'Alfonso krdalfon@buffalo.edu Health, Policy, Aging, Race/Ethnicity, Families
Ayesha Datta ayeshada@buffalo.edu  Internal and global migration, statelessness, markers of identity, gender, informal sectors of work, refugee livelihood, unpaid care work
Sara DiPasquale saradipa@buffalo.edu Inequalities among marginalized identities, specifically gender and sexuality; language patterns
Zachary Evans zacharye@buffalo.edu Public Policy, Political Economy, Media, Urban Economics, Political Demography
Chandler Fairbanks cnfairba@buffalo.edu Gender, Sexuality, Masculinity, Childhood, Media, Qualitative Methods
Francisco Figueroa fafiguer@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Health Disparities, Health Equity, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Qualitative Methods, Racial Residential Segregation, Urban Sociology
Asli Guler asligule@buffalo.edu Gender, Family, Inequality, Organizations, Environmental Sociology
Rui Huang rhuang27@buffalo.edu

Medical Sociology; Illness and inequality; Pain; Life Course, Quantitative Methods

Eileen Keh eileenke@buffalo.edu Family, Aging, Health, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, East Asia
Byung Soo Lee byungsoo@buffalo.edu Sociology of Family, Immigration, Inequality, Life Course, and Sociology of Education
Jiaying Lin Jlin328@buffalo.edu Law & Society; Life Course; Chinese Studies
Ting-Hui Lin Tlin53@buffalo.edu Medical Sociology, Aging and the Life Course, Social Inequality, Disability Studies
Natalia Marte nmarte@buffalo.edu Sociology of Law, Criminology, Critical Race Theory, Policing and Prisons, Social Inequality
Hanna Nario-Lopez hnariolo@buffalo.edu
Qualitative Research Methods, Sociology of Crime and Deviance, Sociology of Justice, Contemporary Social Issues
Laura Obernesser lauraobe@buffalo.edu Family and family inequalities; Aging, gender, and the life course; Health and wellbeing, Generations and society; Kinship relationships and care work; Qualitative methods
Oluwafisayo Ogundoro osogundo@buffalo.edu Gender, Work, Childcare, Family, Social Policy

Anupriya Pandey

apandey8@buffalo.edu Theory, Culture and Environment, Inequality, Qualitative methods
Surabhi Pant spant2@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology, Political Economy, Classical and Contemporary Theory, Qualitative Methods, Gender and Development
Margaret Rex mrex@buffalo.edu Political Sociology, Political Extremism and Anti-governmentality, Social Stratification
Nicholas Tucker Reyes ntreyes@buffalo.edu
Economic Sociology, Law & Society, Inequality, Historical Sociology, Sociology of Education
Julia Schoonover jjschoon@buffalo.edu Human Rights, Immigration, Law & Social Policy
Grace Sementilli gracesem@buffalo.edu
Urban Housing instability, Eviction, Landlord/Tenant Relations, Residential Segregation, Immigration, Race
Youlhee Seo youlhees@buffalo.edu Adolescence, Socialization, Lifecourse
Srushti Upadhyay srushtiu@buffalo.edu Gender, Sexuality, and the Body;  Sex Work; Digital Work and Labor; Digital Cultural Production
Siqi Wang swang36@buffalo.edu Inequality in Health, Cultural Participation
Zhe Wang zwang86@buffalo.edu Urban Sociology, Culture, Family
Ayrlia Welch ayrliawe@buffalo.edu Occupations and Work, Aging, Life Course, Family, and Sociology of Higher Education, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Michelle Williams mw233@buffalo.edu Work and Labor, Environmental Sociology, Rural Sociology
Chang (Rita) Yu cyu33@buffalo.edu
Medical Sociology, Health and Aging, Health Inequality, Mental Health, Poverty Alleviation
Zhe (Rachel) Zhang Zzhang67@buffalo.edu Urban Sociology, Criminology, Health, Quantitative Methods

Master's students

Name Email Areas of Interest
Stephen Brown sjbrown5@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology, Environmental Justice, Urban Sociology, Historical Sociology, Sociology of Immigration
Miranda Farthing mrfarthi@buffalo.edu Violent serial offenders, Childhood effects on crime, the Macdonald Triad
Yuhang Li yli298@buffalo.edu Theory; Historical Sociology; Economic Sociology
Dominic Nappo dlnappo@buffalo.edu Gender and Sexuality; Bioethics
Joshi Preksha pjoshi8@buffalo.edu
Gender, Work, Religion, Science
Gillian Skidmore glskidmo@buffalo.edu Environmental Sociology; Animal Studies